Do you have snow tires for your bike?

Last week, I was asked twice if I had snow tires for my bike. The short answer is no. I don’t need snow tires. My bike actually handles the snow pretty well. That’s important because it snowed all night last night, and I may or may not ride my bike to work this afternoon. (If I don’t ride, I’ll take the bus then walk home tonight after work.)

Yesterday, I rode to and from work, twice. I usually ride to work, then ride home for dinner and then back to work. When the weather is bitterly cold, as it was a couple of nights last week, I take the bus (and brown bag it) to work then hitch a ride with a co-worker headed in my direction. I did walk home Friday night, as no one was headed in my direction. It wasn’t too cold; the wind was at my back most of the way.

When I left for work yesterday, the snow was just starting to fall (snow was supposed to start falling after 1. It was after 4 (I waited until the Packers-Cowboys playoff game ended before leaving home), and the snow was just starting. When I came home for dinner, a few hours later, snow was coming down harder, but there was almost no traffic. Then for my ride back to work, it seemed to be raining a light icy mist. If there is one thing I dislike, even more than a cold wind, it’s ice. Snow was falling again as I left for home about 1 a.m. this morning. The main street I rode home on had seen a plow or two, but it was slow going. Fortunately, there was little traffic at that time. Except for crossing a bridge, I rode without incident. I decided to walk across the bridge as it seemed icy.

The side street in my neighborhood had not seen a plow, and I used a lot more energy to ride those last few blocks than at anytime on the way home.

So, no, I do not have snow tires for my bike. It rides well in the snow, and I’m sure I’ll have a few more snowy rides before the end of March or early April, whenever the last snowfall of the year occurs.

Today is Jan. 12, and we’re nearly halfway through Janathon. I’ve tweeted (@carfreerunner) but haven’t done much blogging. I think the only day I didn’t get out of the house and do some form of exercise was last Tuesday. On all the other days, I’ve either gone for a walk of more than a mile or rode my bike. As of this writing, a few minutes before noon, my only time outdoors was walking a few blocks to the bus stop. Today’s walk or bike ride will come later.

janathon-participant-logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Janathon, Winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

