A new year dawns

2015 is here, and there was nothing we could do to stop it. My family and I celebrated New Year’s Eve by watching It’s a Wonderful Life, the James Stewart-Donna Reed classic, on DVD. We had popcorn, crackers, celery sticks and a vegan cheese ball that I made using a recipe that I found in one of Lindsay S. Nixon’s Happy Herbivore cookbooks.

When we realized it was just about midnight, we paused the DVD, flipped the TV and found Pitbull in Miami celebrating as if it were already 2015. Our kitchen clock said we still had a minute or so till midnight. Fireworks started going off on TV, my wife and I check our cellphones, and the both said 12:01. Oh well, we toasted and kissed.  As I said, there was nothing we could do to stop 2015 from coming.

So here 2015 is, and what are going to do this year? We set our family goals. Some are financial — things like being better stewards with our money. Some are travel related — saving to go Europe, getting passports, go bike camping. Some are more personal. We posted our list on the wall in the kitchen where we can check on them on a regular basis.

We also set personal goals. I need to sit down and write out more than just train for and run the HUFF 50K ultramarathon on Dec. 19, 2015.

As I mentioned in my last blog entry, I’m signed up for Janathon. I rode my bike to and from work on New Year’s Day. I also took the dogs for a short walk. Our German shorthaired pointer, who’s usually go, go, go, has been feeling under the weather lately. When she saw the leash, she was off the couch and ready to go out. Instead of pulling the entire time, she was walking real slow, and we ended up just going around the block.

I plan to go for a short run, about 3 miles, this afternoon before I go to work. The sun’s out (freezing rain is in tomorrow’s forecast), so I need to take advantage of the sun.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Janathon, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

