Another attempt at Janathon

Two years ago, I discovered the Janathon challenge. I think it was at Fit for 365 where I first read about Janathon.

The basic premise of Janathon is to get out and exercise daily during January and then blog or tweet. I’ll probably tweet more than blog (@carfreeruner). Much of my exercise during January often tends to be my daily commute to work (by bicycle) or walking the dogs. In 2015, I hope to run more in January. I have a June half-marathon that I’m signed up for and I want to be at the top of my game come June.

In 2014, our part of Indiana was hit hard with polar vortexes, a phrase I had never heard before last January, and we had one of the coldest, snowiest winters ever, which limited my outdoor exercising through late March. I walked home from work or got rides with co-workers. (The city bus stops running at 9 p.m. and I work until 1 a.m. most nights.)

I don’t know what the long-range forecast for January looks like. Usually, it’s the coldest month of the year. Today (New Year’s Eve), the high is supposed to be 15 degrees Fahrenheit. Tomorrow, New Year’s Day, the high is supposed to be in the mid-20s (F).

I’m looking forward to getting outside and exercising. I’ve been motivationally challenged of late. Yesterday, I slogged through a three-mile run with my dog. My legs were sore when I finished. I don’t know why.

Tomorrow is a new day and a new year.

Participant-Logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another attempt at Janathon

  1. tischcaylor says:

    Good luck with Janathon and with your races this year.

  2. MichelleK says:

    Brr! I won’t complain about the AZ weather to you.

    Have a happy, healthy new year 🙂

  3. Thanks. I understand it snowed in Phoenix.

Leave a Reply

