Bicycles are menace? How about cars?

I sometimes wonder if drivers realize they have a potentially deadly weapon at their disposal every time they get behind the wheel.

A few days ago a letter to the editor in the newspaper where I work appeared that struck a nerve with me. The letter writer wrote of a bicyclist who was weaving in and out of traffic and nearly caused an accident.

I wrote a response.

Then I got an email from my friend Jeff today. He wrote: “I am pretty certain that I was the cyclist that that woman who wrote the letter to the editor encountered downtown on November 3.  I remember it vividly and her version is NOT what happened.  I was going to call the cops myself but she was long gone and I could not recall color/type of vehicle because I was so shaken up.”

Jeff said the driver tried to hit him without hitting him.

I ask again: Do driver realize every time they get behind the wheel they have a potentially deadly weapon at their disposal?

I am not interested in a war with cars. I want those who drive to realize there are non-drivers out there: bicyclists and pedestrians. American cities for too long have been car-centric. It’s time that city leaders realize that cities are for people, and streets should be designed with people in mind, not just cars.

A few weeks ago, our local columnist wrote of a ghost bike. This particular ghost bike is a reminder of a teenager who was killed crossing a street on his bike. The columnist mentions there was nowhere to cross the street. That’s right. The street’s a menace of high-speed traffic with no island or crosswalk or anything that would allow someone to cross safely. The nearest light is five or six blocks to the south, and there is no sidewalk in that stretch of street. This is an example of a road designed with cars, not people, in mind.

It’s time to demand that roads be designed with people in mind.

I’m interested in hearing what others think. I’ll get off my soapbox now.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

