Winter already? Say it ain’t so

So here I sit on the 15th of November and the temperature isn’t supposed to get above freezing today. Up to an inch of snow is supposed to fall within the next few days, and on Monday the temperature isn’t supposed to reach 30 degrees F. Another season of polar vortex?

A typhoon hit Alaska last weekend, and that was supposed to unleash an Arctic blast that was supposed to blanket the upper Midwest.

When you’re car free and ride your bicycle to work because no public transportation runs after 9 p.m. on weekdays and 6 p.m. on Saturdays (the buses here don’t run at all on Sundays), you think about the weather. I don’t worry about the weather. I know this blast of cold air is temporary and we’ll get warmer weather again before the end of the year. I can’t change the weather, so I try not to fret too much. Anyway I’d  rather ride in the cold than in the rain.

One thing this recent blast of cold weather had done is taken away my motivation to run. I want to run but I don’t want to. So I haven’t. I’ve been sleeping in and then not running. I need to get my arse off the couch and onto the road, running.

Maybe my lack of motivation has to do with a series of races I ran from the end of September to the end of October — the Fort4Fitness half marathon, the Army Ten Miler and the River City Rat Race 10K. And while I’d like to run a race on Thanksgiving, I haven’t signed up for anything yet. I have nothing on my race calendar until June when I’m planning to run a half marathon. And June is a long way off.

Today the sun is sort of out and we walked downtown to Parkview Field to go to the farmers market. We bought apples, potatoes, kale, radishes, arugula and popcorn.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Car free, Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

