Veterans Day: Be a peacemaker

All day today on the radio I’ve heard thank yous to veterans. Before I write something cynical. I want to say “You’re welcome.”

I’m not sure what I’m being thanked for. Yes, I spent four years in Uncle Sam’s service. I enlisted to pay for college, not out of some altruistic need to serve my country. I tell people I served in Cold War. I spent the bulk of my time in the Army in Germany with the First Armored Division. On one or two occasions, I went to border between West and East Germany. I also went to border once between West Germany and  Czechoslovakia.  I also was stationed at Stewart Airport in Newburgh, New York, with a district recruiting command. During my time in New York, I once nearly ran over Walter Cronkite. Fortunately, I’m not infamous for hitting the “Most Trusted Man in America.”

I want people who say “Thank you” to veterans to mean it, and for me showing that you truly mean it is to work to keep our country out of war. Be a peacemaker. Next time the president is trying to whip up the nation to go to war, write your congressman or congresswoman and your senators and tell them, war isn’t the answer. We need to be more creative in how we settle our disagreements than to send our sons and daughters to places to kill or be killed. Be a peacemaker. Work for peace. Work for justice.

Finally, here is a link to a Mike Royko classic. http://www.blackfive.net/main/2007/11/veterans-day-mi.html

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Veterans Day: Be a peacemaker

  1. Thank you for your service. I truly mean it- from one soldier to another.

Leave a Reply

