Blogging hiatus over — for now

I had been on a blogging hiatus. I’m not sure why. I just posted my first blog in about six months when I joined a blogging link-up party and wrote about my four-legged running partner.

Since last blogging, I’ve run in several races, including the Army Ten-Miler, which started and ended near the Pentagon. Here is what I wrote about the race as it appeared in The Journal Gazette, the newspaper that employs me: http://www.jg.net/article/20141019/SPORTS09/310199990/0/SEARCH.

I also ran in the annual Fort4Fitness half marathon. A race I thought I had trained well for, but on race day struggled at the end with the hills. A new race I entered this year was the Runners on Parade 5K, the largest 5K race in Fort Wayne. More than 1,000 runners run a portion of the Three Rivers Festival Parade route the morning of the parade. I ran the race in about 29 1/2 minutes, about 20 seconds off my 5K PR, which I set in 2013 at the St. Patrick’s Day 5K race in Biloxi, Mississippi. Finally, just a week and half ago I ran the River City Rat Race 10K, perhaps my favorite event on the local race calendar.

As we approach another winter, my family and I are still living without a car. Last winter was tough, and if not for friends offering rides, I’m not sure I’d have made it. A report on TV the other night with an editor from the Farmers Almanac said that we can expect a frigid first 10 days of 2015 and a snowstorm in March. I think we can survive such a winter without a car.

Our four-month experiment has now surpassed two years.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Car free, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

