On the trail of Bigfoot: Snowshoeing

Nearly 10 inches of snow fell on Fort Wayne overnight Tuesday to Wednesday this week. My wife had a handful of DVDs that needed to be returned to the library, so we put on our snowshoes Wednesday and walked to the library. We passed numerous people digging out their cars, some of whom commented about us having the right idea, getting around town by foot, wearing snowshoes.

Thursday I wanted to run. I was getting cabin fever. My wife suggested going snowshoeing instead of running. So I went out for a lap around the neighborhood park on my snowshoes. I also went up and down a couple of streets. In all, I went about 2 miles and I was ready for lunch when I got home.

I figure snowshoeing, while not running, is a good way to cross train. I can feel my leg muscles are being used in a different way than when I run or ride my bike. I can feel my heart and lungs are also being worked.

Longtail snowshoes

Longtail snowshoes

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

