Would Icy D Eagle love this?

Icy 4wheeler

Icy D Eagle is the renowned mascot of the Fort Wayne Komets minor league hockey team. He moved to Fort Wayne from Salt Lake City in the 1990s when the Salt Lake Golden Eagles folded and has been with the Komets ever since.

Icy, as the photo above indicates, loves to go out on the ice between periods. Sometimes he rides an ATV. Sometimes he skates. Sometimes he’s on foot and uses a slingshot to fire T-shirts into the crowd. Sometimes he tosses footballs with people in the crowd. He seems to be as much at home on the ice as the hockey players.

On Tuesday I attempted to run. I made two laps around the neighborhood park then gave up. It was too icy. We had rain Saturday, which turned the snow on the ground into slush. Sunday saw another cool down, which froze the slush. Monday was sunny and the ice didn’t seem as slick. Tuesday is cloudy and the ice just seems slicker.

Would Icy have given up? Maybe. After I got home I tried attaching screws to the soles of an old pair of running shoes in attempt to create traction. My experiment failed. What I need are uniform screws that I can screw right into the soles. I attempted to keep the screws on with duck (duct) tape.  Red Green might be an expert at using duck (duct) tape; I’m not. My wife finds me handsome.

Another snowstorm is forecast for Tuesday night. The third storm since the beginning of the year. And I suspect another Polar Vortex is bearing down too. Maybe all the snow will make the streets and sidewalks less icy later in the week. Let’s hope so.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Would Icy D Eagle love this?

  1. tischcaylor says:

    Have you tried Yaktrax? The hardware store in Ossian sells them for less than $20, which is less than what you get them from Yaktrax online (and almost certainly less than you’d pay at a running store). Probably other hardware stores closer to you sell them, too. I’ve been using a basic style that’s not specifically designed for running, but they’ve worked great on both ice and snow.

Leave a Reply

