Nice run

As January winds down, I am looking forward to what I hope is a warmer month. Our local minor league baseball team put tickets on sale Thursday, 63 days before Opening Day. Nine weeks. With all the snow on the ground, it is hard imagine that the baseball stadium will be ready April 3. But then, the local colleges will start playing in March, even here in northern Indiana.

Thursday, according to Endomondo.com, I ran 5.23 miles. My watch says I ran it in 46 minutes 55 seconds. Either my watch stopped somewhere in the run or the mapping software is wrong. Maybe I ran that far, but it would have taken me longer than 46:55 to run it. There is too much snow and ice on the ground to run it that fast. I was not winded or anything when I finished. I don’t wear a GPS or anything. I rely on my memory when I map out my runs afterward. I just mapped the run using Map My Run and it came up 4.6 miles, which is probably more realistic. So where did the .6 mile go? Beats me.

In addition to running Thursday, I got back on my bicycle and rode it to and from work, twice. When I left work Thursday night, the temperature had gone up to 30. It felt quite balmy out there, even if some of the streets I rode on were slushy crap. I don’t want to think about the damage all that is doing to my ride. I can’t wait for spring to give it a good cleaning.

Should I run a third day in row Friday and then rest Saturday and Sunday? Or rest Friday then run Saturday and Sunday? Saturday’s forecast is calling for a wintry mix. I really don’t want to run if it’s icy.

janathon-participant-logo

 

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nice run

  1. msmidt says:

    I have found that all the mapping products based on the phone’s GPS make for nice estimates, but they aren’t very accurate. Like you, I’ve mapped out my typical distances, but I also you my GPS watch, which is much more accurate than the phone. Here’s to warmer weather!

Leave a Reply

