More Yoga and another run

Friday I made a second attempt at Yoga. My wife took our son to get his haircut. I put an Upsidedown Pudding Cake in the oven and put  the Kids and Yoga DVD in. I did the routine and felt a tiny bit more comfortable with what I was doing. I then threw on my running clothes and went out in the snow and ran 3 miles. It’s the third day in row that I’ve run. I purposely kept the run short because it’s the first time I’ve run three days in a row in a long time. But if I’m going to run an ultramarathon, I need to run more often to prepare my body for the race itself.

As I was running, I wondered if I should have run first then do the Yoga or was I right to do the Yoga first then the run? The last two days as I ran, I thought a lot about my breathing. Could that be the result of the Yoga? One of the thing Ed Ayres wrote about in The Longest Run was to listen to your body when you run. I don’t run with earbuds. I have never run with an iPod or a Walkman (remember those?), although I once owned a handheld tape player and I walked with it a few times. It was heavy. I suppose an iPod is much lighter than my tape player was. I still don’t plan to run with earbuds. I run along streets and I want to hear traffic, that’s probably the biggest reason I run without music. Another reason is that I don’t like being startled when a bicyclist overtakes me when I’m on a multiuse trail. I overtake plenty of runners when I’m on my bike and I always call out to let the runners know I’m going to passing them. When they have their earbuds in, they don’t hear me, and I’ve nearly hit more than one runner who drifted despite my calling out because the runner didn’t hear me.

janathon-participant-logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

