Attempt at Yoga

Another Polar Vortex swooped into northern Indiana this week, sending the temperatures well below zero Fahrenheit, and creating a certain amount of cabin fever in our house.

The library was closed Tuesday, the fourth day the library has been closed this year for a weather-related issue. In the more-than-10 years my wife has worked at the library, I can think of just one weather-related closure before this year (Yes, I mean 2014). So it was nice treat for my wife to be home Tuesday. With the high below zero, my wife and I cleared the living room of all its furniture and popped in a Yoga for Kids video. We did, or rather attempted Yoga. It was my first ever attempt at Yoga. It made me realize I really lack flexibility in my muscles. Regular attempts at Yoga are in my plans.

Wednesday, the temperatures creeped up into the teens, so I went  running. Much of my   planned route had not yet seen a plow, so I had to improvise while also run into the wind on the way out and have the wind at my back for the way in. For most of January, the Rivergreenway has been plowed, but after last weekend’s snow and then the latest Polar Vortex, the plow had not been out. Maybe today more of the greenway is plowed. I ended up running about 3.7 miles.

I hope to run again today. We’re supposed to have a heat wave, with a temperature in the mid-20s F. I might even ride my bicycle to work this afternoon.

janathon-participant-logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Attempt at Yoga

  1. MichelleK says:

    Meanwhile, in Arizona we are having one of the warmest winters I can remember 🙂

Leave a Reply

