Still winter out there

I went for a 4.75-mile run Wednesday. The temperature was in the teens, snow was fully, but the wind was fairly calm. We’ve had winter this January. We’ve also had hints of spring.

Wednesday’s run was my first of the week. I’m a weather wimp and thought it was too cold to go out Tuesday, though when I went out for a walk Tuesday evening, the temperature really wasn’t that bad. There was no wind. But after walking about 30 minutes my big toe on the right foot and my fingers were numb, so it was cold out there.

Monday was warmer when I rode my bicycle to and from work (twice). The ride home Monday night was cold. The wind was blowing out of the east, and I was riding east. Snow was falling. I really didn’t want to be on my bike. I had to stop at a couple lights, which just added to my misery. Though after riding a few minutes without having to stop at a light, I started warming up, and by the time I got home, I was fairly warm.

Sunday, Bart Yasso of Runners’ World is going to be in town speaking at the local running club’s annual banquet. I signed up, but I don’t see my name on the registered list. Think it’s time to email one of the organizers. The club brings in a big-name runner annually. Among recent speakers: Frank Shorter, Dave Wottle, Shalane Flanagan. I am not a member of the club, though I should be, and I have not been to one of the club’s banquets in the past. I have a rare Sunday night off work, so I plan to go Sunday.

janathon-participant-logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

