Janathon Day 10: White, white, everywhere white

We got about a foot of snow on Sunday, then the polar vortex came in and temperatures dropped well below zero Fahrenheit on Monday. Temps stayed below zero on Tuesday then finally started drifting upward Wednesday.

I went to work on Monday, getting a ride from a co-worker. I stayed home Tuesday, venturing outside only to shovel the sidewalk in front of the house. Am I wimp? A story in today’s paper suggests that maybe we Americans have become weather wimps. It has been 17 years since the nation had a day as cold as Monday. I can recall the entire winter of 1982 seemed to be cold and snowy. I don’t think there was a day that January when the temperature got above 10 degrees F. My winter in basic training (yes, I am an Army veteran) was so cold we never had to bivouac. That was 1977 at Fort Knox, Ky. So, I shouldn’t be a cold weather wimp, but I’m thinking maybe I am.

Today is Friday and the temperature is above 32 degrees F, which means all that snow is starting to melt.

Yesterday and today I ran in this winter wonderland. They were my first runs since running back to back days New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day. I got some walking and bicycling in before the storm hit Sunday. In fact, I walked to church on Sunday then walked to work that afternoon.

I haven’t been on my bike since Saturday, and I don’t think I’ll ride it again until it either gets cold again and the slush freezes or it warms up more and the slush disappears altogether.

As for my runs. Thursday I ran 4.2 miles on the Rivergreenway and downtown. A plow had been down the Rivergreenway path but not in Headwaters Park, so I went along downtown sidewalks until the snow pile at the end of the sidewalk was too high to get over and cross the street.

Today I ran through the neighborhood park and down a boulevard with lots of old, expensive houses. Like the Rivergreenway, the path in the park had a plow go down it, and the street was snow-covered in places, icy in places and clear. I made two laps for a total of 3.25 miles. I liken both runs to trail runs in that I wasn’t running on dry pavement, but on uneven snow-covered paths. Yes, these paths are paved. Except today and yesterday they’re snow-covered.

Oh, yeah, about the title of my blog. It’s white out there. Today, the sky is a leaden gray, which just sort of blends in with all the white snow. The world seems devoid of all color right now. It’s not. I just seems that way.

janathon-participant-logo

How did you survive the arctic temps?

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Janathon Day 10: White, white, everywhere white

  1. MichelleK says:

    Hmm… We’ve had highs in the mid sixties here. Somehow I am surviving 😉

Leave a Reply

