Janathon Day 3: Am I crazy or what?

I did not run Friday after all. I was warm and cozy in the house, even though it was a sunny day. I didn’t feel like fighting the cold.

Instead, I rode my bicycle. I rode it to work and home. I took a different route than normal. I crossed a different bridge than the ones I normally cross, figuring the streets with bicycle lanes would be easier. Ha! In places, the lanes were not cleared. In others, cars were parked in the lanes and in others, the snow that was on the sidewalk had been plowed onto the bike lane. On top of that, I rode at just the right speed to catch every light red. By the time I got to work, my fingers were numb.

The ride home was a challenge. It didn’t seem as cold, but with the dark it was hard to tell where the ice was. Again, I went home up the street with a bike lane. Mostly, the bike lane was uncleared. I didn’t have to stop at as many lights, but I had to deal with the street I was on being closed at the street that crosses the bridge. I was able to detour and cross the bridge. And here I am safe and warm. In all, it was 4 miles round trip. Not much, but better than nothing.

janathon-participant-logo

So

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Janathon, Winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Janathon Day 3: Am I crazy or what?

  1. MichelleK says:

    Sounds like an adventure…

Leave a Reply

