Janathon Day 2: Winter blows in

I had not planned to run Thursday, and I didn’t. I also did not ride my bike to work because I got Thursday off for the New Year’s holiday. Instead, I took a couple of walks — one in the snow to return overdue material to the library and the other after the snow had stopped falling to take our German shorthaired pointer for a walk.

The walk up to the library was 20 minutes up and 16 back. The walk up was into the wind. I walked in the street in tire tracks because few of the sidewalks were cleared. When I got to the street the library is on, the businesses along there had parking lots cleared (one bar had its snow from the parking lot piled onto the sidewalk. A restaurant had the sidewalk cleared from the parking lot to the front door, but not beyond the front door. Do not business owners realize not everyone drives? A coffee and tea house had cleared its walks, but much of it had drifted shut. The library walks were being cleared when I got there to return my books and DVDs an hour before the library was to open.

After returning my materials, I crossed the street and went back on the other side. The walks on that side of the street were cleared, for the most part. When I got onto a side street, I again walked in the street. When I reached the park, I could see someone was clearing the sidewalks in the park. Round-trip, it’s about a 2-mile walk to the library.

When I got home, I cleared our sidewalks and those of my next door neighbor. More Janathon exercise.

Late in the afternoon, I took the dog for a walk. The snow had stopped falling, but the temp had dropped. The wind was still coming out of the northeast. We went to the park. Some of the sidewalk had snow drifts on it. We made lap around the park and lap up a boulevard street — a walk of about 1 1/2 miles. So for the day, I walked 3 1/2 miles and shoveled snow.

Friday is expected to be cold, but the wind is expected to die down by late morning. I hope to run, even if it’s a short run — maybe a few laps around the park. Saturday is supposed to warm up some, but more snow is in the forecast for Saturday and Sunday. Then Sunday night, the temp is supposed to be 10 below zero F. Monday, the high will be about zero and Tuesday’s high 5 below zero. These days will test my car-free resolve, no doubt.

I’ll keep my 2 or 3 loyal readers up to date.

 

janathon-participant-logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Car free, Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Janathon Day 2: Winter blows in

  1. tischcaylor says:

    I admire your resolve in this tough weather. Driving up Broadway yesterday in heavy snow saw a guy on a bike in the freaking MIDDLE of the street! (I do not believe he was a Janathoner or an all-seasons cyclist but a hard luck case, otherwise he would’ve had more sense to take a less traffic-y side street.) I hope he wasn’t killed, because I couldn’t be sure where my car was going in all that slick stuff and I was going slower than most. Good luck getting through the snow and ice, and watch out for bad drivers!

Leave a Reply

