Whatever the weather

Whether the Weather

Whether the weather be fine

Or whether the weather be not

Whether the weather be cold

Or whether the weather be hot

We’ll weather the weather

Whatever the weather

Whether we like it or not

— Anonymous

From Poetry be Heart: A Child’s Book of Poems to Remember

compiled by Liz Attenborough

I ran in weather Friday. It was warm and misty. I ran in weather Sunday. It was windy and cooler. Rising river water covered parts of the path on my planned route. On Sunday night, I rode my bike home from work in the mist. Saturday I walked through a puddle I did not see on my way to the bus stop. When I got to work, I put on Vibram Five Finger shoes. None of my colleagues seemed to notice my unusual shoes.  Earlier this month, we got 8 inches of snow in a 24-hour period. And winter is now officially here.

We’ll weather the weather.

I like that line. It’s especially important to weather the weather when you’re car free. A pile of snow could be between here and a bus stop. Or along your planned bicycle route. I try not to ride on the sidewalk, though I do ride on the multiuse trail. There is one section between here an a bridge that I cross in which I ride on the sidewalk. There is a flood wall next to the road. I would not want to be pressed against that wall by a impatient driver, so I ride on the sidewalk across from the wall, rather than next to the wall. The sidewalk I ride on is close to the road, too, and the city snowplows end up piling snow on sidewalk. After we got our 8 inches, I had to find alternate routes.

We’ll weather the weather

Last spring I went to Opening Night at the TinCaps. My wife and son had gone to Opening Night every year since 2009, the TinCaps’ first season at Parkview Field. The weather was ideal for November football: rain, cold. Instead, they played baseball. After 6 innings, the rain picked up, and the tarp was brought out to cover the infield. We went home. When we got home, we turned on the radio. The game never resumed. I think the TinCaps won. We weathered the weather.

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

