Weather turns

A week ago, we were bracing for a snowstorm. We got 8 inches of snow last Saturday. By Friday night, the snow is gone (OK, the mountains that were created by snowplows clearing parking lots are still there).

A week ago, it looked as if we’ll have a white Christmas here in northeastern Indiana. Today, it looks as if we’ll have muddy Christmas. Rain is in the forecast for Saturday, then Sunday, the temperature is expected to plummet to the 20s. So maybe, we’ll have a frozen Christmas.

On Friday, I went for a run of 5.72 miles. I tried to incorporate as many neighborhood hills as I could. I run along one of the rivers and when I move away from the river, I head up hill. There are no mountains here (except those in parking lots), so I’m not running up mile- or longer hills. Readers who live in hillier areas would probably laugh at my hills, but there they are.

I ran in shorts Friday. The temp when I went out was 47.  When I went out Wednesday, I wore long underwear and a vest over my long-sleeve running shirts. The temperature was in the upper 20s. Ed Ayres, in his book The Longest Race, says that 40 is the ideal temperature to run in. I don’t know about that. My own nonscientific survey of me, 55 is probably the ideal temperature for me. What is your ideal temperature to be running in?

Finally, I am once again signed up for Janathon, a monthlong challenge to exercise daily and then to blog about it for the month of January. I did not come close to blogging daily during Juneatho, so I have nowhere to go but up, right?

Participant-Logo

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weather turns

  1. MichelleK says:

    I have read somewhere that “If distance runners controlled the world, it would always be 55 degrees.” I like anything from 25 to 60, as long as I am dressed properly and it’s not windy. I went for a nice, drizzly 45 degree run yesterday. Capris and a light jacket made it perfect 🙂

Leave a Reply

