Is it disrespectful to run in a cemetery?

Tanya, in her blog asks about running in a cemetery. I’ve done it, what are thoughts of others?

90in9

This question had never really occurred to me before, as one of my favorite races takes place in probably the largest (and one of the oldest) cemeteries in Fort Wayne.

But late last week I was looking to get in a quick outdoor run to keep my holiday run streak alive, and because I’d just finished up some Christmas shopping in Decatur, where I’m not familiar with any local routes or jogging paths, I figured I’d just run for 20 minutes or so in a cemetery.

The first one I stopped at looked perfect — quiet and peaceful and far back off the road near a woods. I love wandering through cemeteries, and I couldn’t wait to explore this one. But then I noticed someone was tending to a grave, which made me feel awkward about doing a workout there.

There was another cemetery across the road, which was larger…

View original post 264 more words

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

