Half marathon in record time — at least for me

Saturday, Sept. 28, marked two milestones.

1. We celebrated one year without a car in our driveway. On Sept. 28, 2012, we gave our car away to the St. Vincent de Paul Society and haven’t looked back since. Our four-month car-free experiment has now topped 13 months (we stopped driving the car in August 2012 when we discovered it needed nearly $1,000 in repairs).

2. We each participated in the annual Fort4Fitness fall festival. I ran the half marathon, and my wife and son ran/walked the 10K. My son also participated in the Kids Marathon on Friday night. My wife said her 10K time was a PR. I think my son was a bit slower this year than last. I ran the half marathon in 2:27:33. My goal was 2:30, so I bettered my goal. My time would have been even faster had nature not called near the five-mile mark, and the portable john had TP. One of the other portable johns had toilet paper, so I was able to finish the race comfortably.

According the results, I ran the first five miles in 1:00:51, a 12:11-mile pace. A longer-than-planned bathroom stop hurt my time there. I got to the 10-mile mark in 1:56:28, an 11:39-mile pace. I ran the final 5Ks in 31:06, a 10:01-mile pace. I finished 64th out of 84 runners in my age group (male 55-59). I was in 1,036th place among males and 1,856th out of all finishers. Yes, I finished in the back half, but I am quite pleased with my result.

The race started in front of the Baker Street train station (which hasn’t seen a passenger train in about 20 years, but that’s another story), headed down Calhoun Street to Tillman Road (about 4 miles). Then we went along Tillman Road and Fairfield Avenue to the far entrance to Foster Park. We entered Foster Park and covered a little more than two miles inside the park. The run then entered the neighborhoods near park and back toward downtown.

Some of the neighborhoods had signs up welcoming runners and residents out in their yards cheering people on. One church group had about 700 runners in the three Saturday races (there was a 4-miler in addition to the half marathon and the 10K). Every couple of miles, a large group of people were cheering that church group on. It was amazing to see and it helped to boost the morale of those of us not part of any group.

The race finished at Parkview Field with a lap around the warning track on the baseball field.

When the race was over, my legs felt as if they could go another five miles. I still want to run a marathon. I just don’t know where I am going to find the time to run the long runs necessary to complete a marathon.

 

 

Here is a photo gallery from The Journal Gazette, our local morning newspaper (and my employer).

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Car free, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Half marathon in record time — at least for me

  1. MichelleK says:

    Congrats on the PR. Bleep bleep GI issues! 🙂

  2. tischcaylor says:

    Great job! Congratulations, also, on your car-free anniversary.

Leave a Reply

