Returning to blogging — Fort4Fit half

As I sit here and begin draft two of this blog, I realize how dodgy modern technology can be. At home, my keyboard sticks and letters go all over the place. Here at the library, where I am writing this blog, Firefox crash for a second or two, and the draft of the my blog disappeared.

To recap, I was writing about the Fort4Fitness half-marathon, which is next Saturday (Sept. 28). It starts in downtown Fort Wayne near the Baker Street train station, heads south toward Foster Park then back to downtown. The race ends at home plate at Parkview Field. This year will be my third official time running the race. in 2009, I entered but ended up not running because our baby-sitter became unavailable and I watched our son while my wife raced. A day or two later, I ran the course. When I finished on the concourse at Parkview Field, my wife gave me her finisher’s medal. I ran in 2010 and last year. In 2011, tendinitis took over my Achilles tendons and I ended up entering the four-mile race instead of the half-marathon.

My time in 2012 was 2:32:42. I was 103rd out of 121 in my age group. In 2010, my time was 2:45:47. I was 113th out of 125 in my age group.

Last week, I ran 13.77 miles in about 2:45. I am looking forward to what I hope will be a cooler day. Because I work until 1 a.m. most nights, I rarely run early in morning and end up running closer to noon. My goal remains 2:30.

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Returning to blogging — Fort4Fit half

  1. MichelleK says:

    Welcome back 🙂 Have a great race!

Leave a Reply

