Father-son rides

The other day, my son and I rode our bikes from our house to Kreager Park for his season-ending soccer game. The park is about 5 miles one way from our house.  My wife met us at the park and we had a picnic supper before the game. After the game, we rode downtown to Parkview Field to watch the TinCaps play the Lansing Lugnuts in exciting Midwest League baseball. The local 9, the TinCaps, won 2-0. Then we rode home.

The next day, he and I rode to Franke Park for Franke Park Day Camp’s 67th annual Big Powwow, a season-ending celebration for the camp (I plan to blog more on the Big Powwow in a few days). Again, my wife joined us after she got off work.

It’s been amazing watching my son go from an unsure bicyclist to a confident rider all in the space of a few months. He went from a single-speed coaster brake bike to a six speed with hand brakes. He went from stopping at every corner (and I mean every corner) and walking his bike across the street to riding across streets when he has the right-of-way. I remind him that he needs to pay attention to traffic. Still his abilities and confidence amaze me some times.

Next month, he’ll be playing soccer on Saturdays and most of those Saturdays, I’ll be riding with him to the soccer field. I think the games are at Concordia Seminary. Concordia has a several soccer fields. My niece played there 16 years or so ago. She went on to be a three-year letter winner in high school that included scoring a goal in the state semifinals in the fall of 2002.

I am looking forward to this new phase in our bicycling. We’ll have to come up with new routes, something my son is good at.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

