#Juneathon Day 6: Walking the dogs

I have two wonderful dogs that live in this house. One is a pointer-terrier mix and is about 12 years old. He’s not as spry as he used to be. He ambles when we go for walks. The other dog is a German shorthaired pointer. She’s 9 and she’s Go! Go! Go! Walking the two of them together can be a challenge.

053

We saw a chipmunk on the trail, and from there all bets were off. The GSP was on the hunt looking for the elusive chipmunk the rest of the walk. The other dog couldn’t care less if there was a chipmunk or a squirrel or a rabbit. He was out with his pack, and his pack let him stop and sniff and pee whenever he wanted. As I said, it’s a challenge walking them together.

My son took the older dog and I took the GSP. Our earlier walks in the week took us north of our house, so Thursday I decided to head south. We got to the river and instead of crossing it we headed east on the Rivergreenway. We walked past a pond with three turtles sunning on a log. The turtles are frequently there on warm, sunny days.

We went up a hill, and I noticed something swimming across the river. At first I thought it might be an otter or beaver. I now think it was duck but not a mallard, which is the most common duck in these parts. I’ve seen wood ducks near the river before, so maybe it was a wood duck. With the way the sun was hitting the water, it was hard to tell exactly what I saw.

Then there was the chipmunk, which put the GSP on high alert for much of the next phase of the walk. We went along the river until we got to the next street with a bridge. We turned and walked away from the river. After a few blocks, we turned down a street and headed west. We came to a street that goes over to the park and went there. At the park, students from the neighborhood elementary school were playing at the playground. The kids were in their matching polo shirts and khakis. When we came by with the dogs, they ran over to pet them.

We talked to the kids. They wanted to know why my son wasn’t in school. He explained that he’s homeschooled. He goes to school at home. I was bothered that none of the adults from the school (teachers? parent volunteers?) came over to see who this guy with the dogs was. The kids got a chance to say hi to the dogs and then we went on our way. We circled around a couple blocks and returned home.

I sat out back and read more of Whole by T. Colin Campbell. It’s a book I’d like to finish soon. He makes a pretty strong case for eating a whole foods, plant-based diet.

As for my bicycling, I made two round trips to work for about 6 miles. As I mentioned in an earlier post this week, Germanfest is going on. The festival has moved downtown. I noticed when I got downtown on my bike an apartment complex that is near the park where the festival is set up had a big sign at the entrance to its parking lot: No festival parking. Same thing with a restaurant across the street: No festival parking. Festival parking is $4. Glad I’m not driving to any festivals. I hate to pay for parking.

Finally, I want to thank Tanya, of the 90in9 blog for recommending Oscar Wilde and Vatican Murders by Gyles Brandreth. If you like whodunit mysteries, this a book to read. Tanya wrote about cucumber sandwiches and mentions Brandreth’s book in the post.

juneathon_participant_logo

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free, Juneathon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

