#Juneathon Days 4 & 5: Checking out the trails

Tuesday and Wednesday brought me to some of our city’s trails. On Tuesday, my son and I participated in the weekly Trek the Trails program, a ride along a second of the extensive trail network.

We rode our bikes from our house to the trailhead, about a mile away. We then joined 70 or so other riders as we made our way along the Rivergreenway, a trail that follows the St. Marys River. We rode to Foster Park, one of city’s oldest. Round trip, it was about 9 miles. My son is a real trooper. His bike is a too-small fixed gear mountain bike, and the trail had its fair share of short, steep hills, some of which he ended up walking up. We were among the slowest of the riders, but not the slowest.

Wednesday, we made a bus adventure to Salomon Farm Park, a park on the far north side of town. It’s also a park where my son is going to be going to day camp in July. We rode three buses to get to park. I think with a little better planning and our bikes, we can get there on one bus. Once there, I ran the park’s trail, which circles the park. One loop of the trail is 1.6 miles. It has rolling hills and little shade. I made a lap and half. My legs were heavy throughout the run. I think my bike trip from Tuesday wore out my legs.

Fort Wayne Parks & Recreation photo

Fort Wayne Parks & Recreation photo

Switching between bicycling and running, I think in the long run, will be good for me. But for now, as I lengthen my rides and my runs, my legs are taking a beating. Thursday, I think will be just my rides to and from work.

juneathon_participant_logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free, Juneathon, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #Juneathon Days 4 & 5: Checking out the trails

  1. MichelleK says:

    I love how you and your son so so much riding together 🙂

    • When you’re car free, bicycling really is the best transportation, at least for me. Until November, he couldn’t ride by himself. I think he’s making up for lost time.

Leave a Reply

