Science Experiment of One revisited

Earlier this month, I wrote a blog entry titled a Science experiment of one. I wrote about how I came to the conclusion that eating plants and not animals was ideal for me. Today, I want to revisit or add to it.

Wednesday, I went to the American Red Cross blood center and donated a pint of blood. I hadn’t donated blood in nearly two years. I got a call last week asking me to donate. I said I would then never made the appointment. I got a call Tuesday, and I said I’d make there on Wednesday. So I marked it on our family’s digital calendar (I’m a digital immigrant, by the way), and made sure I got there. Wednesday was also the day my son decided he was going to make his ride out to Shoaff Park. The three of us — my son, wife and myself — headed out by bicycles to Shoaff Park. We rode through the IPFW campus, an apartment complex, a shopping center then across St. Joe Center Road and over to Shoaff Park. We made it in about an hour.

After eating an apple, I left for my blood donation appointment. The appointment was for 2 o’clock and I got there right at 2. After reading the material and using the john, I was ready. My blood pressure came in at 112/62 and my pulse was 66. This, after riding my bike from home to Shoaff Park and then back to blood center, a trip of about 10 miles. Oh, my iron was good, too. Without a bit of meat in m diet for years. In fact, I would guess that my iron is better now than it was a year and half ago when I was still consuming dairy products, mainly cheese and ice cream.

The blood pressure and pulse numbers, along with my iron, convince me even more that eating a whole foods, plant-based diet is the ideal way to eat. Speaking of whole foods, I am reading T. Colin Campbell’s new book Whole. Campbell is the author of The China Study. The two books make a strong case with what appears to be sound science that humans are meant to eat a whole foods, plant-based diet.

Being car free, I am sure, has helped to improve my health. I am forced to incorporate more exercise into my daily routine if I want to go anywhere. Even if I rode the bus everywhere I want to go, I’d still have to walk to the bus stop and from the bus stop and my destination to my final destination. But I don’t ride the bus everywhere. I walk or ride my bike places. And that walking and riding, I’m sure have helped to improve my health.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free, Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

