Rain, rain go away, we want to go to a parade

Rain fell most of Memorial Day around here. It stopped long enough to go to the annual Memorial Day parade, which starts just a few blocks from our house. We hopped on bikes and rode over to the parade route.

Memorial Day Parade, May 27, 2013

Memorial Day Parade, May 27, 2013

We had planned to ride from the parade to Shoaff Park, a large park that is northeast of us, but we decided not to ride Monday because of the rain. Sure enough, it started raining shortly after we got home from the parade.

My son’s goal for May is to ride to Shoaff Park. He’s fairly new to bicycling on his own, and it’s great that his confidence is growing and growing. As is his strength. He goes up some pretty good hills on his too-small single-speed bike. We bought for his birthday when he turned 7. He didn’t start riding solo until after he turned 9. We’ve been looking for a new (at least for him) bike. My wife wants to get something that has 24-inch wheels. Every bike that size has multiple speeds and hand brakes. He’s not sure about multiple speeds and hand brakes yet. We’ll keep looking.

I’ve been participating in the National Bike Challenge this month. Our mayor encouraged residents to take part. Since I’m already riding to work daily, I signed up. I’ve ridden every day this month. More riding is on tap Tuesday. As is a run. I think I’ll be running about 4 miles. I’d better get to bed so that I can get up and run before my wife leaves for work.

Memorial Day Parade, May 27, 2013

Memorial Day Parade, May 27, 2013

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

