Rediscovering blogging

Today is May 24 and I haven’t written a blog in a few weeks. I don’t think I have writers’ block. I think it’s more a case of writers’ laziness. I’ve been lazy in my writing this month. Throughout April’s 30 Days of Biking Challenge, I blogged regularly. Since the calendar turned over to May, for whatever reason I haven’t been blogging regularly. I’m afraid my faithful readers have forgotten all about me, so I might have to go about winning over new readers.

Earlier in the week, I put in five tomato plants. We got the plants a week ago at the Historic Main Street Market, which runs every Friday evening May through October. We have tomatoes and carrots growing together. In another part of garden, we have red cabbage and broccoli. I have a Thai pepper plant that still needs to go into some dirt. We’ve restarted our compost pile. I need to be an attentive gardener and keep the pile turned over so that we get some good compost.

I really need to take a bike repair class. I broke a spoke this week and instead of replacing it myself, I took my wheel to a nearby bike shop this morning. The might get to it today. If not, I’ll get my wheel back Monday. I chose the small bike shop that is closest to my home, instead of a much bigger shop that is an easy bus ride away. The bigger shop probably could have gotten the spoke replaced while I waited, and instead of writing a blog right now, I could be on my bike enjoying this cool, breezy day.

I read about 90in9‘s triumphant day at a nearby sprint triathlon. I’d love to complete a triathlon. Unfortunately, I am an extremely inefficient swimmer. I don’t know how to tread water. And frankly, I’m afraid of drowning.  I know that at the sprint triathlon 9in90 completed, they have duathlon. Maybe that’s for me. I’ll run a bit then hop on my Trek 700 hybrid for a 20K ride then run some more. I think the next race is scheduled for Father’s Day. A marathon, though, is my goal race for 2013. I need to focus on training for a race that’s 23 weeks away. My longest run in recent weeks is 8 miles, so I have a ways to go before I’m running 26.2 in 23 weeks.

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rediscovering blogging

  1. MichelleK says:

    Welcome back. Do the du 🙂

Leave a Reply

