Earth Day reflections

DSCN3482

Monday was Earth Day. I don’t really recall what happened in 1970 at the first Earth Day; I was 11 years old at the time. Yes, that’s old enough to be aware, but I’m not sure that I was.

This year, our city had an Earth Day celebration at Eagle Marsh. My son’s Earth Scouts group handed out reusable shopping bags with info on why one-use plastic bags are not good for the environment. It’s a project they’ve been working on for months. Since they started the project, I’ve noticed more and more plastic bags caught in trees. Once, I saw a squirrel try to eat a bag or pull it from the branches it was stuck on.

Plastic shopping bags hanging in trees near the St. Joseph River, Fort Wayne, IN

Plastic shopping bags hanging in trees near the St. Joseph River, Fort Wayne, IN

We try to never accept plastic bags when we shop. Admittedly, we’re not perfect. And our newspapers come in plastic sleeves almost daily. Yes, we subscribe to not one, but two newspapers. I feel fortunate to be living in the United States’ smallest two-newspaper city. Many cities that are much larger do not have two daily newspapers, but I digress.

Back to plastic bags. Do you use plastic bags when you shop? Or do you bring your own reusable bag? May I encourage you to shop with reusable bags?

While out at Eagle Marsh celebrating Earth Day, I picked up a flier with the following statement: “Meat’s not green.” And on the back, is a quote from Sir Paul McCartney: If everyone wants to save the planet, all they have to do is just stop eating meat. That’s the single most important thing you could do.” I want to figure out how to highlight this quote on this blog.

Monday night, I saw this video. It’s long (80 minutes), but it shows why what Sir Paul said is so accurate.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fws0f9s4Bas

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Earth Day reflections

  1. Dru says:

    My husband and I use reusable shopping bags whenever we go grocery shopping. However we do sometimes use plastic if we’re running in a regular store for things such as… clothes. We try not to, and often you’ll see us walking out of the store holding the items in our hands. I often tell my husband to be sure to have the receipt handy so nobody thinks we’re shoplifting!

    But you’re right, we need to be more diligent about not using plastic bags!

    • When we drove, we often left the store with our groceries in the cart and then just tossed them in the trunk. Now that we don’t drive, we do need to carry something to carry our groceries home in.

  2. MichelleK says:

    I use reusable bags at the grocery and Target. I don’t at the mall, but if I buy things at more than one store, I will put things from the second store in the first bag if I can. I can’t get the husband to use them.

Leave a Reply

