Rain, rain, go away

OK, we had a drought for much of 2012 that started with a really dry, though cold, April after the hottest March in recorded history. This year, April is keeping up its share of the old rhyme “April showers bring May flowers.” We’ll find out in about next month if we’ll see more May flowers.

On Thursday morning, the temperature was well into the 70s F. Showers are moving through as I write this, and judging by how much the temperature in the house has dropped, I guess the temp outside has dropped as well. It seems we’ve had rain every day this month. And wind.

I rode my bicycle Wednesday out to Eagle Marsh. The wind was at my back, and I found the ride to be quick and easy. A trail called the Towpath Trail connects a westside park with the far southwest suburbs, going past Eagle Marsh. The wind was in my face as I started heading home, so I rode to the bus stop and rode the bus home instead.

Thursday, I  started heading out to Eagle Marsh again. The wind had swung around 180 degrees, and so I was riding into the wind. And as I was riding what started out as a blue sky became black and gray. I decided to turn around. I didn’t want to get caught out there with no shelter when the storm moved through. I thought about catching the bus west then riding my bike home. But again, if the storm came through and I was on the Towpath Trail someplace with no shelter I could be in trouble. So, I stayed home.

Goose Island at Eagle Marsh. Canada geese and mute swans nest on the island

Goose Island at Eagle Marsh. Canada geese and mute swans nest on the island

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

