30 Days of Biking: Halfway home

Today, is Tuesday, April 16, more than halfway through the 30 Days of Bike Challenge. I was going to write Monday before the tragic events at the Boston Marathon.

I have been trying to come up with something to write about it, but I haven’t been able to gather my thoughts in a coherent way. One blogger wrote about how she and family members were handing out water in the finish area Monday afternoon in Boston.

Mike Wise at the Washington Post wrote this column.  He puts into words what I couldn’t or can’t yet. I plan to run a marathon in the fall, and that has not changed. I refuse to be a victim.

I know this is not about the 30 Days of Biking Challenge. After the first 15 days, I rode every day, even if I did not get my bike out during the day April 2. I rode home from work early that morning, so I have to count it as a ride. The beauty of this month, is that my  son is improving daily on his bike and it’s been a joy riding with him, even if he’s much slower than his slow old man. We haven’t been on our bikes yet today, though he plans to ride to religious ed this evening, weather permitting. And I’ll ride along, then go for a run while he’s in class. We’ll ride home, then meet my wife between here and the bus stop.

If you pray, pray for the victims of the Boston Marathon bombings, along with their families. Also pray for race organizers everywhere that such a senseless tragedy doesn’t happen again.

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 Days of Biking: Halfway home

  1. Dru says:

    Keep appreciating the beauty in life, including this bike rides. And you’re right, we can’t let this victimize us- we have to keep running for ourselves, for them, to live past tragedies.

Leave a Reply

