April bike challenge, day 7

We’re a week into the 30 Days of Biking challenge, and technically, my streak is intact, although I did not get my bike out of the garage on Tuesday, April 2. I rode home from work after midnight, so I rode on Tuesday.

My son is also traveling farther afield on his bike. Woo-hoo. I love that. We’re close to being a bicycling family.

The weather has been cooperative all week. It’s as if, the turning of the calendar from March to April was a flip of the switch and spring arrived. Of course this being April, rain is in the forecast, as are cooler temps.

Thursday, I went for a run. My plan was to run 8-10 miles. I ran about 4 and those were hard. I struggled. I don’t know what it was, but I had a hard time Thursday. I did a little running Sunday (probably about a mile) and felt fine.

Friday, I rode my bike from home to my wife’s place of employment. It’s about 5 miles away. I’ve run there a handful of times, but this was my first bicycle ride there. I’ve ridden from there to my place of employment (about 6 miles) several times, and the plan is to do that again Monday (weather permitting).

Saturday’s ride was to and from work. I’ve slightly changed my ride home for dinner. I now have to go through just two traffic lights. I stop at red lights and wait for the light to change. I believe a bicyclist has to follow the same traffic laws as drivers, so I wait at the light. And though I think the law that permits right turns on red to be repealed, I do make right turns on red on my bike.

For a good explanation on why bicyclists should stop and stop signs and red lights, read this post from a mom who wants to teach her children to do the right thing. I have to agree with her on stopping at lights and stop signs.

 

share the road

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

