30 Days of Biking Day 4: A ride home from work

Thursday morning after 12:30 a.m., I rode home from work. I did the same thing Tuesday morning. I am going to count these rides as my rides for April 2 and April 4, although I plan to ride back to work later Thursday afternoon.

The ride home Thursday morning was really uneventful, though my left knee hurts and when I tried to avoid a pothole, I strained my knee more. I am going to try to run Thursday, but I’ll stop if my knee starts aching.

Tuesday I did not get my bike out during the day. I had planned to, but this and that got in the way and I didn’t get my bike out. My son did, though. Went it comes to bicycling, he’s a late bloomer. I learned to ride my bike when I was 5 and always assumed everyone learned to ride a bike at age 5. Well, he’s older than 5 and just learned to ride without assistance last fall. He was getting pretty good riding around the paths at our neighborhood park. He even got a little daring. He crashed once trying to avoid a Canada goose. Then winter came and his bike went in the garage for a few months.

Last weekend he got it out again. He didn’t quite pick up where he left off last fall, though by Wednesday, he was riding farther than he had been.

If we’re going to remain a car-free family, we need to be a family that gets from point A to point B by bicycle. I know I don’t always want to ride the bus someplace or walk someplace. We can get farther faster by bike than by walking. I am truly looking forward to our son riding places on his bike.

 

30 days

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Days of Biking Day 4: A ride home from work

  1. Dru says:

    Great goal! I wish I could be a car-free family but I’ve got an hour commute while my husband also has an hour commute- in the opposite direction. We’re hoping to someday find jobs or something and relocate to an area where we can also become car-less.

    • We’re fortunate in that both my wife and I work fairly close to home. It’s just a mile and a half for me. It’s 5 miles one-way for my wife. We also have the city bus.

Leave a Reply

