30 days of biking pledge

In January, I participated in Janathon, a monthlong effort to exercise every day. In November, I joined the 150 Kilometer challenge fellow blogger Cory R Babstock runs over on Facebook. In it, you are challenged to walk or run 150 kilometers for the month (an average of 5/day, or 3.1 miles/day).

Monday, I signed up for the 30 days of biking challenge. It starts April 1. Participants are asked to ride their bicycles every day during April. It can be a ride around the block or a ride to work. It doesn’t matter the reason, just ride. So I am going to ride.

I think bicycling is about the best thing a person can do for the environment (along with eating a meat-free and dairy-free diet). The only fossil fuel that is burned on a bicycle is the fossil fuel that was used to make it and ship it. The energy it takes to propel a bike is all your own.

I bring the environmental issue up because the denomination my wife belongs to is starting a program on Easter (this Sunday) called Mission 4/1. Mission 4/1 has three goals: to devote 1 million hours to caring for the Earth, to plant 100,000 trees and to write 100,000 advocacy letters. The program is meant to coincide with the Easter season, which runs from Sunday to Pentecost Sunday, May 19.

I like the timing. I also like that our new pope, Francis I, called for caring for creation in his first homily as pope. I am a Catholic, so the pope’s message is especially important to me. I think one of the ways we can better care for creation, as I said before, is the ride a bike or eat a meat-free, dairy-free diet. I just wish local parishes and the Knights of Columbus would realize the damage overfishing of the oceans is causing before Lent starts next year and fish fries are scheduled.

April is also the month of Earth Day. I think every day should be Earth Day. After all, we have just one Earth, and we should be doing what we can to take care of it, so that it’s still around for our children and grandchildren.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free, Food, Janathon, Lent and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 30 days of biking pledge

  1. tischcaylor says:

    Interesting point about the fish fries. Fish is about the only meat I really love; everything else I could pretty much do without. But I feel increasingly queasy about eating anything pulled out of the ocean (or any other water) these days.

    • I used to eat fish then saw an article in Time magazine 15 years ago or so about the overfishing of the world’s oceans and stopped eating fish then, though I occasionally ate fish my uncle caught in area lakes. With all the mercury in fish, I don’t see any point in eating fish these days.

  2. Good for you and the challenge! The new Pope is pretty cool if he cares for creation and calls for others to do the same. Too bad not many Lutherans feel that way. Guess that’s one of the reasons why I’m not a practicing Lutheran anymore. I just got through with Get Fit Texas’ six-week challenge. Of course, I ride every day anyway. But the four hours vacation-time bonus for what I already do is so sweet!

Leave a Reply

