More on the built-in exercise front

The other day, I was reading this article from Outside magazine online that looked at the battle muscle and fat have inside our bodies. The focus of the article is a guy who would stop at the drive-thru on his way home from work and order a whole bunch of sliders at  White Castle then go to Mickey D’s and get some quarter pounders with cheese before going home to the lasagna his wife was making. Eventually, he tipped the scales at nearly 500 pounds. His blood pressure was through the roof. He took up cycling at a nearby Gold’s Gym and started to lose weight.

The article says that fat does things to our bodies that make want more fat, and that muscle does things to our bodies that make us want more muscle and less fat, and the best way to increase muscle and to lose fat is through exercise. Phil Bruno, the featured person in the Outside article took up cycling. He got to the point where he leads a spinning class at the Gold’s Gym.

The article made the point that we’re better off moving. When I wrote my previous blog on being car free and one of the benefits was built-in exercise. I wrote the blog after sitting down at one of those blood pressure screening machines inside the drugstore. A sign on the machine recommended exercising three times a week. I think that’s too little exercise. We humans, I’m convinced, need to move and move often. Whether it’s running or bicycling or walking, we’re meant to be in motion.

How often do you exercise?

My son and at a 5K on the IPFW campus in 2012. I was racing, he was cheering me on.

My son and I at a 5K on the IPFW campus in 2012. I was racing, he was cheering me on.

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to More on the built-in exercise front

  1. MichelleK says:

    Probably a crazy amount. 6 – 7 times a week, including some double-sessions. Swim, bike, run, lift. I’ve been active for a long time, though. People should add exercise gradually.

Leave a Reply

