A living legend at radio rinkside

I admit, I enjoy hockey. I live in a city that has a minor-pro hockey team, the Komets, a member of the ECHL. The Komets are the second-oldest minor-pro hockey team in North America, second only to the Hershey Bears of the AHL.

I grew up going to Komets games. I used to fall asleep listening to the games on my transistor radio (remember those?). The voice I listened to then was Bob Chase. And if I turned on a Komets game this week, I would listen to Bob Chase. I’ve met Bob and handful of times over the years, and he’s always been gracious to me.

Take a few minutes and watch this video. Bob was honored by the US Hockey Hall of Fame this fall for his longtime association with hockey.

It’s easy to forget that someone special is in your midst. We often don’t see another person as anything special. It takes an outsider to point it out. I write this knowing full well that there are times I yell at the radio for Bob to give the score. He’ll go from one stoppage of play to another complete with commercial breaks and never give the score. Still, we’re fortunate to have the Komets and Bob Chase are radio rinkside.

Bpb Chase puck, www.komets.com

Bob Chase puck, www.komets.com

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

