Janathon revisted: A snowy run

On Thursday, I ran a route that I did early in January as I waited for the Boxing Day snow to disappear. It was a route that doubled as a recon for my bike trip into work. I really feared the idea of riding a bicycle in the snow. Thursday’s run also served as a recon. I knew from earlier in the day when my son and I took our German shorthaired pointer for a walk that the Greenway path I use to get to work was  deep in snow. I figured the streets leading into downtown that have bike paths would be cleared, so I used those streets for my run. Yes, they were mostly cleared.

Two things happened Thursday that did not happen on any of my snowy Janathon runs.

1, I brought along the GSP. She looks at me when I get ready to go. It’s as if I can read her mind and she’s saying, come on, let me come with you. Please. Pretty please. I relented and brought her along.

2. We pushed two cars out of the snow(OK, the dog didn’t really push). One car had been plowed in when the city snowplows came by Tuesday night/Wednesday morning. The other car tried to turn onto a street that hadn’t seen a plow and it was a slick, slushy mess. It’s tough to push a car when you’re holding onto a dog’s leash and the last place the dog wants to be is by a car that’s being pushed.

I ran two laps around the loop. According to mapmyrun.com, it’s a four-mile run. Despite stopping to push cars (I turned off my stopwatch when I was pushing cars) and stopping for a couple lights, my run was in 41:48. I don’t think any of my January runs were that fast. Tells me I’m speeding up. On the run today, I was mindful of the hills. They did not seem to slow me down or wear me out.

I used the same streets to a from work Thursday, which according to mapmyrun, adds about a half mile to my trip to work than does my usual route. So, instead of riding 6 miles (two round trips), I rode 7.5 miles (three 2-mile trips and one 1.5-mile trip). Now it’s time to get some sleep. I got up early Thursday because my wife was making French toast before heading out to a morning meeting. The French toast was really good. She used the same recipe she used on Valentine’s Day, the last time she made French toast As I mentioned then, it was the best French toast I’ve ever eaten.

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Janathon revisted: A snowy run

  1. MichelleK says:

    It’s always fun to realize that you’re getting faster.

Leave a Reply

