Hockey night: A car-free adventure

Wednesday night, my wife, son and I went to see a hockey game. We walked to the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum to see the Fort Wayne Komets play the Toledo Walleye. The Komets won 5-4 in overtime.

Our extra ticket was for our coats.

Our extra ticket was for our coats.

The Komets are the second-oldest continual minor-league hockey franchise in North America. The team celebrated its 60th anniversary last season. I went to my first Komets game when I was in kindergarten. I still remember the score: Komets 3, Des Moines Oak Leafs 3. My dad and I sat up in the top row. I came away thinking the goalies had a wheel on the backs of their skates. Over the years, I’ve been to hundreds of Komets games, both here in Fort Wayne as well as in such exotic places as Indianapolis, Ind., Peoria, Ill., Toledo, Ohio, Cincinnati, Ohio, Flint, Mich., Saginaw, Mich., Muskegon, Mich., and my favorite, Kalamazoo, Mich.

On Wednesday, our first thought was to take the bus. You can take the bus to the game, but not home; buses stop running at 9 p.m. So either way, we would have to walk home. After eating dinner, we were ready to go, so we decided that instead of going down to the corner and waiting on the bus, we’d just walk to the Coliseum. It is a tad over 2 miles from home to the arena. There was a little snow and rain in the air. We decided it reminded us of our trip to Yellowstone National Park a few years ago when we drove from Yellowstone to Grand Teton National Park. On that evening, it was snowy and overcast. And it was late May. So Wednesday, we put on boots and walked to the Coliseum. We got to the arena in plenty of time to watch warmups, something my son had never seen before. We usually walk in just as the national anthem is about to begin. I had four tickets, but there are only three of us, so our fourth seat was to pile up our coats. We all changed out of our boots and watched an entertaining game.

After the game ended in overtime, we put our boots back on and headed out to new fallen snow. We noticed that other footprints were walking from the Coliseum, so it would seem we were not the only people to walk home from the game. We walked home and discussed what we did in February that we liked best. Mine was see the musical “Oliver!” My son made a big snowball and then left in on someone’s lawn. It looked like a small snowman was sleeping on the lawn.

As February winds down, I don’t think I met my goal of running three times per week during the month. I know last week I ran just twice. I’ve already run twice this week: three miles on Tuesday and seven miles Thursday. In March, I plan to run a 5K over St. Patrick’s Day weekend and possibly another one at the end of the month. I still have to register for the Indianapolis marathon and I’d like to run the Sunburst Races half marathon in South Bend in early June. And I hope to have some pie on March 14.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Car free, Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hockey night: A car-free adventure

  1. tischcaylor says:

    So maybe you’re walking there proved to be the difference that helped the Komets break their slump?

  2. MichelleK says:

    Pie on Mach 14th?

Leave a Reply

