Windy wind wind

When my son was really little and when we’d go out on a windy day, he’d mention the windy wind wind.  The last several days here in Northeast Indiana have been really windy. The windy wind wind. It’s enough to reconsider going car free. OK, maybe not.

Spring arrived Monday only to see the return of winter on Tuesday. Either way, both days were windy. As was Sunday, Saturday and I think Friday. Saturday was the worst. It felt like the coldest day of the year, though Tuesday might be a close second. Actually, the low on Jan. 2 was 2 degrees F, so I know neither Saturday nor Tuesday was the coldest day of the  year.

I think the wind is nature’s way of telling us the seasons are about to change. Monday’s wind came from the south. Tuesday’s wind from the west. The warm Gulf air is fighting the cold Arctic are for supremacy. Eventually, the warm air will win, but doggone, this battle doesn’t need to be fought over Northeast Indiana. I suppose it could be worse. When Winter Storm Captain Nemo hit the Northeast a week and a half ago, we actually had fairly nice weather here. We have not been hit with a giant snowstorm yet, so I can’t complain, although I am complaining.

Monday marked the sixth-month anniversary of being car free. Hooray, or as we said on the Vintage Base Ball field “Huzzah.” We have had a few occasions where a car would have been nice, such as the recent Friday when my wife forgot to put her work schedule on the calendar and didn’t go to work, only to have one of her colleagues call at 15 past 12 wanting to know where she was. Turns out, she was supposed to be at work at noon. She caught the first bus available and got to work after 1:30. That’s the trouble with living in a city where buses run just hourly. If  you miss one, you have to wait an hour for the next one.

Last week for Valentine’s Day, my wife decided to make her men (my son and I) French toast for breakfast, so on Wednesday evening she asked me to make a loaf of bread. We didn’t have any yeast, so I suggested that I ride my bike to Kroger to get some yeast. It was after 10:30, so she said, don’t ride to Kroger (a little more than 2 miles away). I have hanging on the side of the fridge a recipe for beer bread — flour, sugar, salt, baking powder and beer. Easy and quick to make. No waiting an hour or 2 for the dough to rise. We had no beer in the house, but there is a bar with a package store up the street from our house, about a half mile away. So I hopped on my bike and rode up there and bought a bottle of beer. Put the bottle in my pannier and rode home. I made the bread and we had the best French toast I’ve ever had the next day for breakfast.

On Saturday, I bought a six-pack and have made two more loaves since. We haven’t had anymore French toast though.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free, Food, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

