Beautiful February day

I know some people find that idea that there could be a beautiful February day as an oxymoron — two things that are mutually exclusive, like military intelligence (I served four years in Uncle Sam’s Army). Thursday was a beautiful February day. The temp was in the mid-30s F. The sun was out and the snow was slowly melting.

I went for a 4.5-mile run. I didn’t know where I’d go when I left home. I hadn’t done any reconning beforehand to see where the snow had melted or had been cleared. I am tired of running in the street. Streets around here have a hump in the middle, so my right foot is always running on different plane than my left when I’m running in the street. On sidewalks and on greenway trails, the pavement is generally level.

Turns out, our greenway trails were cleared of snow after the most recent snowfall, so I ran on a trail nearest my house to the bridge. I crossed the bridge into downtown then up a one-way street (I know I didn’t want to run in the street) about five or six blocks then back down the parallel one-way street going the other direction to a street that leads to two a park. Through the park to our large downtown park. I ran through that park (some of the paths were cleared, others weren’t). I followed the path along the river to the bridge, crossed the bridge, ran through another park then came back to the greenway, which I followed home.

It was my first run of February. I normally like to run Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays. I worked overnight Friday to Saturday and Saturday to Sunday last weekend. I normally work 4:30 p.m.-1 a.m., so my body needed to adjust to those two overnight shifts. They left me lethargic and in no mood for running Saturday or Sunday. We got more snow beginning Saturday. It snowed Sunday, Monday and Tuesday. When Tuesday rolled around, I didn’t feel like running at night in the snow. I usually run Tuesday evenings (my day off) when my son’s at his religious ed class.

Later Thursday, I rode my bicycle to and from work. I rode Monday in the snow. Then took the bus back to work that evening because more snow was in the forecast. I didn’t snow and I could have ridden home with no problem. My confidence in riding in snow has improved. Monday’s ride was through a lot of soft snow and some ice. I took it slow and got to work just in time to make my weekly Monday meeting.

Currently, I am looking for a tandem to “replace” the family car, which we haven’t had since we gave it away in September, or hadn’t even driven since August. I want a tandem that ideally my son, who’s 9, can ride on with either my wife or myself in the captain’s seat. I want a bike that is comfortable to ride up to 50 miles at a time (we’d like to take it camping this summer to a state park about 30 miles south of here). Any ideas on a good brand and model?

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free, Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

