Janathon Day 31: Final run of the month

Final run of the month sounds so, well, final. I have no intention of not running again. I ran Thursday afternoon in 24-degree F weather. With the wind chill, it’s probably a lot colder. I ran 3 miles. I took along the German shorthair pointer. I hadn’t planned on taking her, but she insisted on coming along. My left index finger was numb when we got home from her pulling on the leash.

Wednesday, I felt stiffness in my right foot, bringing back unpleasant memories of the tendinitis I had in both ankles much of the summer of 2011. The tendinitis was so bad that summer that when I got out of bed in the morning, I could barely walk to the bathroom. The pain was not there this morning when I got up, and I didn’t even think about it while running this afternoon.

I want to say a final word or two about Janathon. I had never heard of it or its cousin Juneathon until John at the blog Fit for a year mentioned that he had signed up and was planning to do it. I went over to the Janathon website and decided it looked interesting, the dogs need a walk, so why not? I did not keep stats on my exercise, but I believe out of 31 days of January, I exercised, either walking, running or bicycling on 29 of those days. On many days, I did more than one of those forms of exercise.

As for February, other than continuing to run three times a week and riding my bike to and from work most days I work and walking the dogs, I don’t have a set challenge. There’s a 5K race in March that I might enter. And I need to get with my brothers about this marathon we’re planning to run next fall. But other than that I have not yet found a challenge for February to push up the motivation to keep moving.

The Global Health Initiative 5K run is March 30 at IPFW.

The Global Health Initiative 5K run is March 30 at IPFW.

In case you missed it, Tanya Caylor, on her blog 90in9 mentioned this blog and our family’s car-free experiment. I also saw a boost in my stats a couple days ago. Thanks to Tanya for the good pub.

Participant-Logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

