Janathon Days 28, 29 and 30: More springlike days

As January winds down, and the Janathon challenge, spring has returned to northern Indiana, if temporarily.

After sleet and freezing rain fell Sunday night, Monday brought a warmup that melted the snow, the ice and anything else that freezes. I rode my bike to and from work Monday, coming home in a thick fog.

Tuesday, the high reached 59 degrees F, which meant running in shorts. I ran about 3 miles after walking my son to his religious ed class at church. After the run, I changed clothes and walked back to church with one of the dogs to pick him. In all, I probably ran and walked about 7 miles Tuesday.

As I write this on Wednesday, my computer says it’s 46 degrees outside, still unseasonable warm for late January. I’ll take 46, but I don’t think it’s good for fruit trees, especially if they start to bud too soon. I had a dentist appointment Wednesday morning, so I rode my bicycle up to the dentist’s office, probably 6 miles round trip. It was probably in the 50s at the time.

Thursday’s the last day of January and the end of the Janathon challenge. I plan to continue to exercise daily next month. After all, the dogs need walks, I still don’t own a car and need to get from Point A to Point B.

What challenges are out there for February?

Participant-Logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free, Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

