Janathon Day 25: The snowy day

In the 1962 children’s book, The Snow Day by Ezra Jack Keats, a young boy, Peter, wakes up to find the world outside his apartment building is covered in snow. He puts on his red snowsuit and goes outside to have all kinds of adventures. He makes snow tracks. He tries to join a snowball fight. He makes snow angels. He pretends he’s a mountain climber and slides down a hill. He even saves a snowball in his pocket for later.

Image from 4.bp.blogspot.com

Image from 4.bp.blogspot.com

I woke up Friday to a snowy day. I did not do the things Peter does in the book. Maybe I should let the little kid in me out and play in the snow like that. Instead, I shoveled snow, took the bus to get a haircut and walked to a Middle Eastern store nearby to pick up pita and hummus. Not much snow adventure. All-in-all, I estimate that I walked about 2 1/2 miles between walking from the bus to the hair salon and back. And to the store and back. And from the bus to work. (How I wish downtown merchants would clear their walks. We even have an ordinance requiring walks be cleared. The ordinance goes unenforced.)

Participant-Logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Janathon, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

