Janathon Day 23: Light dusting of snow

A light dusting of snow did not deter me from getting the dogs outside and for a walk. I headed over to the Greenway trail and followed that for about 2 miles. The total walk with the dogs was about 2 1/2 miles. After a quick glass of water and change of clothes, I took myself running. I ran a little more than 3 miles. It was my first run in a week. I wanted to run without the German shorthair pointer pulling. I didn’t encounter any ice. I think it was too cold for ice to be slick.

Then after lunch and a shower, it was off to work on my bike, my first bike ride since Sunday. Riding into work wasn’t bad. I took a slightly longer route to avoid ice. There was library program at the downtown library that my wife and son wanted to go to, so they met me a work for supper. I rode in with carrot sticks and Rosti, a potato dish that we’ve adapted to be vegan. The original Rosti recipe my wife uses is in Simply in Season by Mary Beth Lind and Cathleen Hockman-Wert.

simplyseasoncov

Though it is not a vegan or even vegetarian cookbook, it is probably my favorite cookbook. The premise behind the book is that we should be eating what’s in season, not buying out-of-season produce that traveled halfway around the world to get here. Many of the recipes treat meat as a condiment, and I’ve discovered that it’s easy to leave the meat out of many of the recipes, and those that can’t hold up without meat, they just don’t get made in our house.

As for the Rosti, my wife’s been fixing it since we first got Simply in Season, with was copyright in 2005. I think we probably got the book in 2006 at the now-closed Ten Thousand Villages store.

 

Participant-Logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free, Food, Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

