Janathon Days 17 & 18: Duathlon thoughts

Years ago, months after I started running, I entered a duathlon, a 2.5-mile run followed by a 20-mile bike ride followed by a 2-mile run. I arrived at the start area, had my helmet inspected, had Michael Jordan’s number written on my arm and Ryne Sandberg’s number written on my calf. For my readers who may not remember, Jordan wore No. 23 and Sandburg wore No. 23.

Then we watched as thunderstorms moved through. After more than an hour of waiting, the race was cancelled. No duathlon for me that day or any day for that matter. I never signed up to do another. Maybe in 2013.

This brings me to exercising for Thursday and Friday. I ran 5 miles Thursday afternoon then rode my bicycle to work that evening. No, it’s not a duathlon. I ate lunch and bathed between the run and the bike trip, but it got me thinking about a brick workout I read at the Ironwoman Dreams blog. She did a bike workout that included a fairly steep hill then a run then another bike workout, another run then a third bike workout and a third run. Yowza!

Ironwoman Dreams http://ironwomandreams.wordpress.com

Friday, I went out to Eagle Marsh to help with a hike. I got off the bus then walked a mile and a half to the marsh. It was sunny and breezy. Later, I rode my bike to work. Still breezy. The Arctic air is supposed to move in sometime Sunday or Monday. What fun single-degree F temps will be on my bike.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

