Janathon Day 16: Getting caught up

It’s Wednesday already and I haven’t blogged since Sunday. I’ve exercised each of those days. I just haven’t taken the time to sit down and write blogs.

My son pointed out that Thursday ends our fifth month of being car free. I think we’ll continue on for a sixth month. I don’t see a car in our future.

Monday, I rode my bicycle six miles from my wife’s place of employment to mine. It was 24 degrees F, but with little wind and no snow. The tips of the middle finger on both of my hands were numb when I finished the ride. Other than that, I felt good. I rode home the mile and a half for dinner and then to and from work. So all told, I rode about 10.5 miles Monday.

Tuesday, I returned to running. I ran 3 miles Tuesday night in 32:20. It was cold. I ran sans dog, although my son and I took both dogs for walk of about 2 miles earlier in the day. Then after I ran, the German shorthair pointer and I walked to church to pick my son up from his religious ed class, another mile. So in all, I walked 4 miles and ran 3.

Wednesday, my wife, son and I went to the Little Rivers Wetland Project offices for a meeting for Eagle Marsh tail guides. We walked probably a half mile from where we got off the bus to the office and then a mile and half back to bus. We took what our local bus company calls its flexlink bus from the main line. We walked back to the main line, thus the differences in distances. It was a sunny Wednesday and cold, though not as cold as Monday or Tuesday. Then we walked a mile from where we got off the bus downtown to home.

A flower at Eagle Marsh, August 2012

A flower at Eagle Marsh, August 2012

We’ll be going back downtown for dinner in a few hours. I guess we’ll walk, though we have bus passes for today, so a bus trip could be in our future.

Participant-Logo

 

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free, Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

