Meatless Monday: Chickpea omlette

I have not written a Meatless Monday post in awhile. It’s not that I don’t have ideas, I do.

I saw this post from One Green Planet on Twitter under the title “Why humans are indifferent to food animals.” The author lays out five reasons we eat animals.

  • Culture
  • Religion
  • Advertising
  • Science
  • Disconnect

I think the two biggest reasons are culture and disconnect. In America, we’re culturally inclined to eat meat. It would be un-American not to eat at hot dog at a baseball game or at a picnic. Or to eat wings when watching football. We’ll also disconnected to the land and really don’t know how are hamburger is ground or that the thousands of fish are indiscriminately caught in miles-long nets. Or that our dairy cows spend their lives with their udders connected to a milking machine.

I, for one, don’t want to be a party to that kind of cruelty, so I don’t eat meat or cheese or ice cream. I read ingredient labels carefully for hidden milk or eggs. The best plan would be to not buy processed food.

Now to my Meatless Monday idea: Chickpea flour omeletts. I saw this recipe the other day (also from One Green Planet) on the Internet as part of larger post on eating more greens. I fixed these eggless omelettes for my family on Sunday and we all agreed they are good. The recipe calls for black salt/kala namak, which I know we don’t have, so I used a pinch of Old Bay Seasoning instead. The recipe also calls for green peppers and chopped tomatoes, both of which are out of season. I used some frozen mixed vegetables instead. And instead of using spinach, I used kale.

Enjoy a meat-free day today. The animals and the planet will thank you.

Participant-Logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Food, Meatless Monday and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

