Janathon Day 10: Chasing squirrels

My beautiful German shorthair pointer running companion joined me Thursday on my run. I figured with temps in the low 40s F, much of the ice would be melted and I wouldn’t have to worry about her pulling me down on a slick spot. I was right. She didn’t pull me down. But boy did she pull me.

053

This dog has one goal in mind, and that’s to catch every squirrel in the world. And I happen to live in squirrel city. I think my left shoulder is damaged thanks to her pulling. I like to say that I run faster now than I did four years ago because of her.

Thursday was no different when it came to wanting to catch squirrels. I decided to stay closer to home and run a lap around the neighborhood park then a lap up and down an adjacent street that has a park strip. In all, it’s just over a mile and a half. I ran two laps that included the street and park and then a third lap just around the park. Somewhere along the way, I restarted my stopwatch (which is part of my wristwatch), so I don’t have an accurate time for my run. I guesstimate that it was about 4 miles.

After lunch, it was time to complete the repair of my bicycle so I could get to work and back. I put the new tube in after breakfast and before running. After running, I put the rim back on the bike, showered ate lunch and then left for work. I rode my winter route to work, rode home the usual way I normally do for supper. That was a mistake. The street was slushy and full of puddles. When I left to go to supper, a light rain had started to fall. I rode my winter route back to work after supper then rode my usual late-night ride home.

I like to change up my routes because I read someplace that if you do the same thing or go the same route over and over again, it limits your brain capacity. By taking new routes, you open new pathways in you brain, even in middle age.

So in all, I ran about 4 miles and rode about 6, my most exercise-intensive day of Janathon 2013.

Participant-Logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Janathon, Running, Winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

