Janathon Day 8: Lots of walking

Warmer weather greeted us Wednesday with temps in the low 40s F. We had wind and a fair amount of sunshine. Much of the snow melted, but certainly not all.

My exercise for the day consisted of taking the dogs on a couple-mile walk with the rest of my family. The three of us and the two dogs headed out to the park and we let the dogs run loose on the tennis courts. Trouble is, there is a crab apple tree that hangs over one corner of the court and crab apples had fallen on the ground (in the gravel, not on the asphalt surface of the tennis court). The dogs found the crab apples and started eating them.

After our long walk with the dogs, my wife, son and I walked to dinner at a downtown church that has a weekly Wednesday night program that includes dinner, choir and study programs with the pastors. The dinner was tacos. I had great veggie tacos with vegan refried beans, rice and mixed fruit. It was delicious. Then after choir, we walked home. It was about 3 miles round trip.

As we were getting home, the temp had dropped into the 30s and ice was reforming where it had melted, and I nearly took a tumble on the way home.

In all, I walked about 5 miles Wednesday.

Bicycle update: I brought my wheel in to change the tube. I took the tube out to see if it could be patched. I put air in it and then put it water to find the leak. As near as I could tell, there was no leak, so I put the tube back in the tire and pumped it up. When we got home Wednesday night, much of the air was gone. Some time Thursday, before going to work, I’ll have to put a new tube in.

Participant-Logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Car free, Janathon, Winter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

