Janathon Day 6: First bike ride of 2013

Being car-free requires a bit of resourcefulness when it comes to getting from Point A to Point B, especially on Sunday when the buses don’t run in this town. I have been dreading this day since Dec. 26 when we got our first measurable snow of the winter. How was I going to get to and from work. My colleague who often gives me a ride when the weather’s bad doesn’t work Sundays, so that option was out. Walking home is viable, if you don’t mind walking in the middle of the night. Normally, I don’t, but …

So today, I rode to work, and was it cold. The wind howling in my face most of the way downtown. Then I had the audacity to ride home for supper before going back into the  wind. But it wasn’t the cold that I dreaded, it was the snow and ice. As I wrote a few days ago when I went out running, I used my run to recon a bike route, and that’s the route I rode. Very little ice was on the main streets. There was ice on the side streets so I avoided them. In all, I probably rode a tad over 6 miles. I felt good, and I look forward to Monday’s ride.

Participant-Logo

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Bicycling, Car free, Janathon, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

