Janathon Day 3; Marathon training

OK, I didn’t run today, so maybe marathon training is a bit misleading. What I did today was walk about 2 miles on a cold, overcast day.  I did some strength training — pushups and Pilates. Thanks to Jon at Fit for a Year for giving me the idea.

My walk went fine. Very little of the route I walked was cleared of snow, so there is a lot of ice on the ground now. I don’t know about elsewhere, but around here, snow often turns to ice after a warmup and then a freeze. We got about 3.5 inches of snow on Dec. 26 (Boxing Day), then it warmed up on Friday (Dec. 28) and then snowed overnight that night and into the morning Dec. 29 only to warm up again through the day Saturday. Then the temperature dropped again Saturday night and Sunday, leaving behind ice below the snow and making some walking treacherous.

As for the strength training, I did pushups, a couple of planks, a set of the hundred, crunches. My abs and my arms feel it. Now I need to do it all over again on Saturday.

I want to strengthen my core because I plan to train for and run a marathon in the fall. My brothers and I are looking at the Chicago Marathon. I think one of my uncles is going to join us. So today, I spent time going over marathon training plans.

In Marathon by Jeff Galloway,  Galloway’s plan for a first-time marathoner, emphasizes the long, slow run once a week, eventually reaching 26 miles a few weeks before the race. His thinking is is if your body has gone 26 miles a few weeks a beforehand, it probably won’t hit a wall on race day. The other plan I’m looking at is from The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Marathon Training by David A. Levine and Paula Petrella. Levine and Petrella emphasize building up to 20 miles, cutting back and then building up to 20 miles again a few weeks before the race. My fear with going up to only 20 miles is that on race day, I won’t be prepared to go the next 6 miles.

For more experienced marathoners, what advice can you share? This would be my first marathon. I’ve run four half-marathons. For two of them, I really trained well and felt good at the end. For the other two, my training was lax and my results showed.

024A photo of me after the Global Health Initiative of IPFW 5K race last spring.

About bluelawscribe

I am a runner who doesn't eat meat. We went from September 2012 to March 2015 without owning a car. I haven't purposely eaten meat since 1998 and haven't eaten any dairy since January 2012.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Janathon Day 3; Marathon training

  1. John says:

    Hey Mike, thanks for the mention and good luck with the rest of Janathon!

Leave a Reply

